Mass Appeal

Standard

28c6b4d6d1a62cb853bef51e83374bbd

If a church is God’s house, a cathedral is His mansion. Yesterday I attended Sunday Mass at the Cathedral of St. Paul, a magnificent edifice in the city of the same name. The church is a massive stone structure with a dome that dominates the skyline of St. Paul, the Twin City on the Mississippi River regarded as the little brother of Minneapolis.

There was quite a crowd assembled for 10 am Mass. I found a seat and gaped at the ornate marble altar, the stained glass windows, and the ceiling of the dome, adorned with gold-leafed paintings of the Holy Spirit in the form of a dove along with its seven Heavenly gifts.

saint_paul_minnesota_holy_spirit-1

What moved me the most, though, was when the Mass began and the sound of organ music and song soared up through the expanse of the cathedral. I experienced the otherworldly nature of a communion with God. As I joined the congregation in prayer and singing, I felt a sense of true and profound worship in this magnificent place  dedicated to glorifying the Creator.

The building of cathedrals in medieval times was truly a labor of love and devotion. With  virtually no machinery, thousands of men toiled to build these imposing stone structures. Thousands of artisans fashioned altars and shrines, frescoes and statues. While the Cathedral of St. Paul was built much later, in the early 1900s, the intentions were the same: to create a sanctuary worthy of the Lord and a place for believers to gather and worship.

As the Mass ended, I found myself wishing I could spend every Sunday morning at such a beautiful and spiritual house of God. But knowing that “wherever two or more of you gather in my name, there I am in the midst of you,” I will be content to give praise in my own humble home parish.

 

One thought on “Mass Appeal

  1. Carolyn Rudolf

    I love to attend mass at different churches. Sometimes it’s the building itself that is enriching, as you spoke about the cathedral, Mary. Sometimes it’s a different culture or ethnicity….. I went to a beautiful church in Lemont that had a gorgeous physical facility and a strong Polish influence. Once on vacation in Orlando, FL, I went to a Catholic church that turned out to be a middle Eastern rite. The people were so warm and friendly toward me that I felt immediately comfortable there. Even in my own home area I love attending mass at different Catholic churches and marveling at the differences, while being comforted by the rituals and traditions that are part of every Catholic service.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

