Trump Wins?

Standard

unknown

I started the day in a hopeful frame of mind. It was a beautiful fall day, and I felt good about Hillary’s chances. I scrolled through Facebook and smiled at all the women who had taken selfies showing off their pantsuits in a nod to Clinton’s signature style. Mostly, though, I couldn’t wait for the election to be over .

When the returns started rolling in, I was happy, but not surprised, to see my own state colored blue. I was hoping Hillary would win by a landslide and put to rest the aberrational nature of the Trump candidacy. But as the margins narrowed in the battleground states, I realized that Hillary would be lucky to squeak by the most outrageous and unqualified presidential candidate in my lifetime.

I went to bed around 11:30 Central Standard Time. My throat was scratchy, and I knew I was catching my daughter’s cold. The race remained too close to call, but the Trump camp was jubilant while Clinton supporters were subdued. I was both worried and discouraged.

At 4:16 a.m., I woke up and couldn’t go back to sleep. I got up and went online to check on the results. Sure enough, Trump had done the impossible: garnered enough electoral votes to become the 45th President of the United States. I tried to go back to sleep, but all I could do was toss and turn, reliving all the terrible things Trump had said and done and imagining doomsday scenarios that might play out with him as president. How, I wondered, could the American people vote for such a man?

I have witnessed many elections in my time and sometimes been deeply unhappy or even disgusted with the results. But I’ve never felt the feeling of utter dejection I felt the whole day after this election. I have such a sense of sadness for the people Trump and his followers have vilified: Muslims, Latinos, the disabled, women, war heroes. How must they feel knowing that a record number of Americans are okay with the man who called them terrorists, rapists and criminals, who mocked them or insulted their looks?

Later that evening, I watched one of my favorite TV comedies, hoping for a good laugh to dispel the blues. But the episode of Blackish was about a teenage daughter questioning her faith in God and rediscovering it in the crisis. Between the subject matter and my lack of sleep, I cried like a baby. I still feel strangely spent. I’ve had a few conversations with like-minded friends that have helped me at least vent over this devastating turn of events. But I am in a daze.

I have stayed away from Facebook and the news, not wanting to be faced with reality. But the reality is that a demagogue has become our president. Still, I take a little solace from that episode of Blackish. God is stronger than all of this. And at this moment, all I can really do is pray.

 

6 thoughts on “Trump Wins?

  1. Well, I don’t believe in God, big or little “g.” This is not God at work; the is the baser, selfish nature of many at work. This is the manipulation of fear at work. Mine is the responsibility to allow myself the grief and anger, then get back in the fight.

    Like

  2. Paul Infanger

    I felt similarly in 1980, when Reagan won. I thought we were doomed. An actor from California, certainly we would be the world’s laughing stock and the economy would plummet. Quite to the contrary, we tamed inflation and started one of the best growth cycles in the 20th century. Reagan is ranked 11th best president in US history. Not a Lincoln or Roosevelt, but in the top quartile. Our government has been a quagmire of special interests and lobbyists for over a decade. Maybe an outsider who isn’t owned by their Party, Goldman Saks, the Saudis or super PACs, can drain the swamp and get us out of our economic and political tar pits.

    Like

    • I also felt that way about Reagan, but I disagree with you about how good of a president he was. However, Trump is a completely different animal. Many health professionals believe he shows signs of serious mental illness that may make him dangerous as a government leader. He does not show even basic human decency to huge groups of people in this country. Furthermore, with Republicans controlling both branches of Congress, the influence of special interests will only increase. I fear I can’t share your sanguine attitude, Paul, but I appreciate your commenting.

      Like

      • Paul Infanger

        My statement about Reagan was not mine but a panel of political scientists who ranked Bill Clinton ahead of Reagan. But both are considered top quartile. Nobody has a clue really about what Trump really wants. Nobody I know voted for him. They voted against Hilary because she is a criminal. They voted against the current government because both parties are dysfunctional. Trump is proof of that. He is not Republican or Democrat. He is a hand grenade with the pin pulled thrown into DC. Lance the boil, drain the swamp…there are many that just want to break the gridlock that has been going on for two decades. Me included.

        Like

Leave a Reply

