Pet Peeves

Standard

Unknown

We all have little things that bug us a lot. For instance, when my kids were young, they had a penchant for stepping on my feet. I would yell, “That’s my pet peeve!”

Pet peeves are not the big things. They are annoyances that give people an outsized sense of frustration. Here are some of my current ones.

  1. People acting as if saying “Merry Christmas” is somehow under attack. I see these memes on Facebook all the time. They say things such as, “Who else will be politically incorrect and say, ‘Merry Christmas’?” If the Christmas holiday were endangered, I don’t think I’d be seeing all the Christmas trees, ornaments, and fake poinsettias in stores before Halloween. Ditto for the Pledge of Allegiance. It’s not going anywhere, and President Obama is not trying to remove the words “under God” from it.
  2. Another FB meme I detest is one showing a very sick or severely disabled child and the admonition to type “Amen” or to “Like” the post. If not, you are told that you are heartless. Ditto the ones that ask if Jesus is your savior. I don’t need to reply to a FB post to prove my humanity or faith to anyone.
  3. Drivers who refuse to use their turn signal. My husband is a member of this club. Not only is it illegal, but it is dangerous and annoying when I am following  you and you suddenly decide to turn right without warning. I’m always wishing for a cop nearby to “cure” such drivers of their bad habit.
  4. People who ask you a question but don’t listen to the answer. A classic example is when ordering food at a takeout counter. The cashier asks, “For here or to go?” You answer and give your order. When you have finished giving the order, the cashier repeats, “For here or to go?” as if s/he hadn’t just asked that question 20 seconds ago.
  5. Any variation of “The problem with kids today is _____.” When I was young, my dad used to make fun of rock and roll song lyrics. “All they say is, ‘Yeah, yeah, yeah,'” he would mock. He also used to yell at me if I complained about how hard my school work load was. “You think you have it bad?” he would exclaim. Then he would launch into a variation of the walking five miles to school in the snow saga. The fact is, the very kids we are sure are doomed are the ones who will be taking care of us when we’re old. And I can guarantee they are going to find fault with the next generation while they’re changing our adult diapers.
  6. Finding any of the following around my house: empty toilet paper holder, dishes with crusted on food, cabinet doors left open, dirty socks on the floor, my kid’s expensive retainer wrapped in a paper napkin. Let’s face it. If you are a wife and mother, you have a lot of pet peeves.

I try not to let my pet peeves make me too much of a grouch. Why? Because grouchy people are one of my pet peeves!

 

2 thoughts on “Pet Peeves

  1. Carolyn Rudolf

    Mary, this post is absolutely hilarious! Plus we have so many of the same pet peeves! I can relate to pretty much all of them, with the exception of the expensive retainer. You forgot one, though…. when people use nominative case for the object of a preposition (I.e., “He’s going with Sally and I”).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

