Just for the Pun of It

Standard

Unknown-3

Most people would agree that it is essential to have a sense of humor, lest we take ourselves too seriously.

The other day my daughter was regaling me with Dead Baby jokes that are currently in vogue with the middle school set.

What’s the difference between a Lamborghini and a pile of dead babies?
I don’t have a Lamborghini in my garage.

Sick, I know. But I was reminded of the Mommy, Mommy jokes that were popular when I was a kid.

Mommy, Mommy, I don’t want to go to Europe.
Shut up and keep swimming.

Mommy, Mommy, what’s a vampire?
Shut up and eat your soup before it clots.

But my all time favorite form of humor is the much maligned pun. Maybe it’s because I love language so much, but I just find puns so clever and fun to create.

See this rock. I took it for granite.

My brother-in-law and I used to have conversations in which we would string out a series of puns on the same theme and see which one of us exhausted our arsenal first. This amused us hugely while leaving those around us mystified about our hilarity.

As much as I love hearing and telling jokes, though, I could never be a comedian. For one thing, I don’t have a thick skin, so any heckling or booing would get me rattled. For another thing, I crack myself up. The best comedians can be totally deadpan while going on hilarious riffs that make the audience hysterical. I, on the other hand, am like old-time comedian Red Skelton, who my mother complained would always laugh at his own jokes.

Still, I will always be fond of corny jokes, especially ones with those groan-worthy plays on words known as puns. So if you know any good ones, please share. I promise not to pun-ish you for it!

2 thoughts on “Just for the Pun of It

Leave a Reply

