Turn, Turn, Turn

Standard

Unknown-1

As summer is beginning to appear in my rearview mirror, I am already mourning the loss of long days, warm weather, lake visits, and my kids at home making noise and messes.

This week my youngest is on a father/daughter expedition for a whole week, leaving me home with peace, quiet, and way too much time on my hands. Don’t get me wrong. I am enjoying my long, solitary morning walks. I have been reading good books and making my way through the TV series Friday Night Lights. My teenage son has a car to drive and a group of friends, so I am not needed for driving or even much cooking.But I am getting an inkling of the meaning behind the famous saying, “Be careful what you wish for.”

When my kids were little, I prayed for just a little breather, just a bit of time to myself. I remember falling asleep on the floor while my infant played next to me. I remember that bone-tired feeling a mother has after a day spent lifting, feeding, cleaning and entertaining a toddler. “Just one more book,” my daughter would plead, and I would read Goodnight Moon or The Runaway Bunny for the umpteenth time.

Last weekend was one of our last summer weekends at the lake. As we drove home on the interstate, the song “Turn, Turn, Turn” by Pete Seeger came on the radio. The lyrics are from the Book of Ecclesiastes in the Bible.

“To everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven.”

While those words give me some solace as I contemplate the changing of the seasons in my life, I have to admit that I’m not quite ready for summer to end.

Leave a Reply

