Embrace the Unexpected

Standard

Unknown

When I got out of bed this morning, I put on my athletic wear and planned to head out the door for an early morning walk. The day promised to be hot and humid, so I wanted to get my exercise in early. Downstairs in the kitchen, my husband was fixing himself a bowl of fruit and announcing to me that he planned to work at home this morning so that he could take my daughter to a soccer tournament downtown.

This was a pleasant surprise, so I decided to linger and have breakfast with him. While my husband went off to make a business call, I made coffee and started working on a crossword puzzle. To my surprise, I heard the pitter patter of my daughter’s feet as she made her way down the stairs, cell phone in hand. It was only 8:00, a full hour before I was planning on rousing her from her summer “sleep-in.”

I decided to make her a big breakfast to fortify her for her soccer game. While the smells of bacon and French toast wafted through the house, my husband wandered in and sat down. Breakfast for three, I thought to myself. No sooner had I served everyone and sat down than my teenage son bounded down, fully dressed. He too could have been sleeping until noon, as he was on a brief hiatus from summer football. Maybe the cooking smells enticed him, but he also informed us that he was going to lift weights.

It was such an unexpected pleasure to sit with my family on an ordinary weekday. As we ate, we chatted about such disparate subjects as the soccer tournament, learning Spanish, and teenage curfews. We were all so relaxed, and I realized that I could not have planned a better way to start the day.

I spend so much time planning family dinners and special outings, such as the Buckingham Fountain excursion I mentioned in an earlier post. I get disappointed when my elaborate plans don’t work out as perfectly as I had hoped. This morning reminded me that the best experiences in life are usually spontaneous, and if they occur, I had better seize the moment.

I did finally tie my gym shoes and go out for my walk. And although the summer sun was already high in the sky when I ventured out, I had a bounce in my step and a smile on my face. It had already been a beautiful day.

3 thoughts on “Embrace the Unexpected

    • Carol, While I was writing this, I was reminded of how you used to tell me your boys would choose to have heart to heart talks with you at one in the morning. I remembered that you were willing to lose a little sleep to be there for them.

      Like

      • Carolyn Rudolf

        It still happens sometimes; that’s what I get for hanging around with so many night owls!
        Once again, your blog cheered me up when I was having a bad day!

        Like

Leave a Reply

