“Yesterday is g…

Quote

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.”
― Mother Teresa

Today I received sad news about someone close to me. I had been planning to do a post about an issue that bugged me. Instead I realized that my time on this Earth is short, so I need to make the most of each day, hour and minute.

How many times do I procrastinate on moving toward my goals? I allow household chores, shopping and trivial pursuits such as playing QuizUp on my phone to take the place of meaningful work on my writing. I allow laziness or fear to prevent me from seeing that play, making that trip, finishing that book.

How many times do I fail to pick up the phone and call my loved ones or friends whom I haven’t seen in a while? How often do I let irritation and selfishness mar my interactions with my husband and my children? Like Scarlet O’Hara, I rationalize, “I’ll think about that tomorrow,” never realizing that today is all I really have.

So my advice to myself and my readers is this:

Go hug your loved ones, call your mom, take a walk or have coffee with a friend. Follow your heart’s desires today.

Leave a Reply

