Fair Weather Fan

Standard

0511-1010-2415-5851_Sports_fans_rooting_for_their_team_clipart_image

When the Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup last year, I expressed delight at that rare treat – a successful Chicago sports franchise. My son promptly labeled me a “fair weather fan.” It’s true that I spend no time watching hockey and only notice the Hawks if they make the front page of the Chicago Tribune.

Still, as a Chicagoan I feel a sense of pride when one of our home teams does well. When the White Sox won the World Series in 2005, I cheered for them despite being born and raised a Cubs fan.

I understand the backlash when a team does well and suddenly everyone in town is on the bandwagon. Loyal fans rightly fume when a team’s new-found popularity makes game tickets pricey and hard to come by. And I get it when diehard fans who have sported their team colors for years resent the sudden proliferation of hats, t-shirts and jerseys on these fair weather fans. Where were you when the chips were down? they might rightly ask.

Maybe it’s the fact that I’m not that much of a sports fan in the first place that makes me laissez faire about the issue. Still, I don’t see anything wrong with applauding successes when they hit close to home.

This weekend I will be attending a basketball matchup between my husband’s beloved Michigan State Spartans and my alma mater, the University of Illinois. The weather has been anything but fair for my team, which is currently tied for last place in the Big Ten. Yet there I’ll be, sporting my orange and blue and cheering on the Fighting Illini, win or lose. Maybe I’m not such a fair weather fan after all.

3 thoughts on “Fair Weather Fan

  1. Thanks to the web, I can still keep up with my Chicago teams even if I can’t watch them all the time. For me now, I’ll only sit down and watch them when they make the playoffs, or if they happen to be on national network TV, or when the Bulls come to town. Does that make me a fair weather fan because I don’t watch every single game? It’s too expensive to buy cable sports packages. You’re fortunate to have 2 college teams to cheer on. Although the University of New Orleans barely has a basketball team, it has no football team. I may have to adopt another college sports program; fortunately I have lots of choices,

    Like

Leave a Reply

